Transit of Venus 2012

There are a million sites and links that will tell me what I’m supposed to think, feel, expect and prepare for with the Transit of Venus. I’m going to brush all that aside and look at what it means to me.

From a purely astronomical view, it’s something to be collected, like a rare stamp or collectable card. However, apart from photographs taken by others (since it’s cloudy), I won’t have anything left to hold in my hands. I will have a memory – an awareness that I chose to pay attention to where Venus was in relation to our planet and the Sun, knowing that this moment would not be repeated in my lifetime. Paying attention makes me think of the basics of the Law of Attraction or positive thinking. You get what you focus on. So what does this attention on the Transit of Venus get me?

To be honest, it has netted me a fair amount of frustration as I have realised how many people don’t know that it’s not an eclipse but a transit, and that viewing times for America do not mean that it will be seen at night in Australia. And no, it doesn’t happen once every 113 years as one post suggested. It’s more complicated than that – “They occur in a pattern that repeats every 243 years, with pairs of transits eight years apart separated by long gaps of 121.5 years and 105.5 years” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transit_of_Venus)

(http://xkcd.com/386/)
Oh how I love to be right! To be fair, the numbers aren’t needed to appreciate the event. However, where astrologers are concerned, I feel they need the accuracy of astronomers (or Wikipedia at the very least) if they want to be creditable.

Venus is my ruling planet so what she is up to interests me. This transit marks the end of a chapter, and I find it intriguing that this coincides with my need to revisit and look at the nature of my calling and vocation. Somehow it seems incredibly appropriate.

Whichever way I look at it, I seem to be waving farewell to a quarter of a century of wanting work in the field of mental health. It’s not an easy shift to make after all these years, but somehow the door has never opened to me, for all the various courses under my belt. I welcome this shift. My time is too constrained to cope with sharing out time between work, counselling courses and writing, and the writing refuses to be left behind. If anything, it’s where the doors are beginning to swing open.

Perhaps for me, the transit of Venus is a symbolises a transit of focus. If the sun is the focal point of our solar system, so my sense of vocation has been and is, a sun to me – a central point around which my life revolves and on which my decisions are based. As long as I have known about such things, I have asked myself, what is it that I am called to do? What is my highest gift or ability that I should use? How am I being the best I can be in this situation or event? What is being asked of me? They are all questions that relate to self and being and how my “self” is “being” in the world.

Now, as Venus, my ruling planet, moves across the sun in relation to our world, all of this leaps into focus. Who am I now? What talents do I need to use now? What have I learnt about myself and how have I grown and changed? What do I need to adjust?

I know I feel more comfortable with writing than other forms of communication. I know my interests blossom and flourish in a multitude of directions. I know that I see myself stirring a cauldron – a great soup of words and ideas. The time for serving up a brew draws near. The doors are opening as Venus passes over the sun.

~ by Dragonwyst on June 6, 2012.

3 Responses to “Transit of Venus 2012”

  1. Love this!

  2. I so looked forward to the transit and was beyond bummed when it decided to rain here. I’d planned to head to the local planetarium and watch it at the observatory. So alas I’m stuck with photos as well.

    Looking forward to hearing about the changes this new phase of your life brings you!

  3. [...] dream of becoming a counsellor in favour of focussing on writing. (You can read about that here.) However, that in no way detracts from the training I do have. Part of that training is an [...]

Leave a Reply

 
The AIM Network

The Australian Independent Media Network

speakupforthose

Act justly. Love mercy. Walk humbly.

DivineIntervention

hope is what keeps dreams alive; wishing is what makes dreams come true

BidjigalReserve

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

House of the Triple S

Random thoughts on the subjects that create our lives. The weekly blog of Paul S. Dahlman

The Commonzense of Saint James

“The truth you believe and cling to makes you unavailable to hear anything new.” Pema Chodron

<3..........Laura Crean...........<3

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 - Author, artist, poet, mum, sci-fi and fantasy nutter - <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 v ision = love + truth + empowerment + enlightenment = freedom <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 ****************************************** the Kid's Blog can be found at... http://rainbowruneblog.wordpress.com/ ***************************************************

patrick o'scheen

Patrick O'Scheen --author

Catty's journey

One girl's journey back to herself

Tricia Drammeh

Author, Blogger, Book Lover

sacredbander

A fine WordPress.com site

AUTHOR JENNIFER LOISKE

Welcome to my world! It's full of angels, vampires, shape shifters and occasionally other paranormal creatures. I hope you enjoy their company as much as I do!

Druid in Training

Reflections of a Modern Druid

Viktor Frankl's Logotherapy

a think-tank about meaning in life

vallewisblog

writing and expressing my thoughts.

89 Stories

Where we show 89 Stories!

Ayslyn's Corner

All paths lead to the same mountaintop

Earth First! Newswire

A Project of the Earth First! Journal: Celebrating 30 Years of News in Defense of Planet Earth.

SerpentStar

A newsletter of the Order of Bards Ovates and Druids in Australia

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 431 other followers

