Slaying giants

1-DSCF0369

Last Wednesday was Bluebeard Day.

It was Day Fourteen of a twenty-one day challenge I had set myself, to write consistently, every day, without getting diverted into other things and grinding to a halt. The challenge was interrupted to some degree by my car accident but that didn’t stop me writing.

I finally observed the moment where I began rewriting instead of pressing on to the end. In the rewriting, I began doubting my ideas and the self-criticism took a strangle-hold until I could write no more.

Bluebeard. That slayer of dreams and killer of ideas. (As per Dr Clarissa Pinkola Estés’  interpretation in her book, Women Who Run With The Wolves )

Well, Bluebeard, I have a bloodied key. The secret door stands open, and I’m afraid my brothers are gonna get you now!

Confronting giants calls for Runes. In fact, it was one of those revelatory moments where I suddenly grasped the difference between the times that call for I Ching and the times that call for Runes. This one wanted Runes. Before I went to sleep, I donned my most magical pendant (the one pictured – I made it myself) and drew three Runes from my runebag. By tradition, the first rune represent the past, the second the present and the third, the future.

1-DSCF1119

 I use the Anglo-Saxon Futhorc and my interpretation is the result of working with the Anglo Saxon Rune Poem, researching and listening to what my subconscious tells me rather than using other people’s interpretations, thus my interpretations may be a bit different from others out there.

Ur

The aurochs is proud and has great horns;
it is a very savage beast and fights with its horns;
a great ranger of the moors, it is a creature of mettle.

The aurochs represents, strength, survival, building of psychological/spiritual muscle. It is a gathering up of all the knowledge gained from life experiences that are brought to this moment. The ranger of the moors – has a wide area of dominion. It uses its strength to fight, to protect.

Ing

Ing was first seen by men among the East-Danes,
till, followed by his chariot,
he departed eastwards over the waves.
So the Heardingas named the hero.

Ing is Freyr – a pastural god – Cernunnos in Swedish/icelandinc terms.The presence of a god invokes higher calling, compulsion. Gods bring tasks and challenges and purpose. When a god is present it represents the need to look for a lesson or purpose or meaning behind apparent events. It is an invitation to grow, take the meta-perspective.

Tir

Tiw is a guiding star; well does it keep faith with princes;
it is ever on its course over the mists of night and never fails.

This is the rune of destiny. It is what calls us forward through to our future and watches over the unfurling of our life’s calling. It is the rune of the path. Other runes my describe aspects of the path, but this rune is the path itself – a silver line that calls us forward through rough and smooth, high and low, darkness and light.

Thus, I bring all of my strength built up from my past experiences to bear on this present moment, an invitation to grow and take a meta-perspective while looking towards destiny. Because my sun sign is Taurus, Ur is especially significant to me and can also represent me personally, thus making it that much closer to the heart.

As I contemplated these three runes, I realised that these are really life runes for me – the kind of runes I can apply at any moment – bringing the strength of everything I have learnt and gained in the past to the present moment, where meaning is being forged and fresh instruction given, to spur me on towards my destiny.

These runes then, are my brothers, come to my rescue. By these runes, Bluebeard is vanquished.

~ by Dragonwyst on March 9, 2013.

3 Responses to “Slaying giants”

  1. Runes have never actually helped me write. Good luck. If this method works for you, I say go for it!

  2. Love your posts Dragonwyst, thanks for sharing so much.

Leave a Reply

 
Your Rainforest Mind

Support For The Excessively Curious, Creative, Smart & Sensitive

... for our planet

We need to look to the future and create a vision of a planet that is not just sustainable, but thriving.

The AIM Network

The Australian Independent Media Network

speakupforthose

Act justly. Love mercy. Walk humbly.

DivineIntervention

hope is what keeps dreams alive; wishing is what makes dreams come true

BidjigalReserve

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

House of the Triple S

Random thoughts on the subjects that create our lives. A periodic blog.

The Commonzense of Saint James

“The truth you believe and cling to makes you unavailable to hear anything new.” Pema Chodron

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

<3..........Laura Crean...........<3

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 - Author, artist, poet, mum, sci-fi and fantasy nutter - <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 v ision = love + truth + empowerment + enlightenment ~ Jesus = freedom <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 ****************************************** the Kid's Blog can be found at... http://rainbowruneblog.wordpress.com/ ***************************************************

patrick o'scheen

Patrick O'Scheen --author

Catty's journey

One girl's journey back to herself

Creative State of Mind

A Blog by Tricia Drammeh

AUTHOR JENNIFER LOISKE

Welcome to my world! It's full of angels, vampires, shape shifters and occasionally other paranormal creatures. I hope you enjoy their company as much as I do!

Druid in Training

Reflections of a Modern Druid

Viktor Frankl's Logotherapy

a think-tank about meaning in life

vallewisblog

writing and expressing my thoughts.

89 Stories

Where we show 89 Stories!

