Connected

A couple of weeks ago I found myself standing on the rocks at the beach – low tide.  My parents, hubby and I had just enjoyed a lovely lunch out to celebrate birthdays in August, September and October.  My parents can seldom resist an opportunity to sit and watch the sea, so we’d made our postprandial way beachwards, and here I was – rock-hopping – unable to sit still after sitting in the restaurant.

The ocean was its very best shade of deep blue and aqua, the sun gently warm, and I basked in it, relishing the rough rock under my feet, the delight of skuttling crabs at the fishing edge, anemones hiding in clefts, little fish temporarily trapped ’til the return of the tide, the salty breeze. I felt tears prick at the sheer pleasure of being. How can anyone not love this planet?

This  underpins everything for me – this sense of connectedness, this awareness of how I am part of this little green, blue and red spinning globe. It’s no accident that I feel compelled to greet and talk to every bird, animal, fish and insect I cross paths with. They are as much a part of this place as I am, interdependent, they speak other languages, have other perspectives, ways of being, sorts of consciousness, but we share the will to live, to be, to create. In this business of life, we are very deeply connected.
1-DSCF1069-001

~ by Dragonwyst on October 21, 2014.

3 Responses to “Connected”

  1. […] Source: Connected […]

  2. Happy Birthday!

  3. […] Now, at the age of fifty, I finally know my life’s purpose. It is all about connection – ours to Gaia – our planetary environment, our interdependence on and relationship with the exquisite network of life, which is what ties in so perfectly with my last blog entry exactly a year before: Connected. […]

Leave a comment

 
Dappled Shadow Counselling

Finding the light between the shadows through Person-Centred Counselling

Damh the Bard

Nature, Myth, Magic, and Music

Julie Brett

Author - Australian Druidry - Artist

YOUR RAINFOREST MIND

SUPPORT FOR THE EXCESSIVELY CURIOUS, CREATIVE, SMART & SENSITIVE

... for our planet

We need to look to the future and create a vision of a planet that is not just sustainable, but thriving.

The AIM Network

The Australian Independent Media Network

speakupforthose

Act justly. Love mercy. Walk humbly.

BidjigalReserve

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

House of the Triple S

Random thoughts on the subjects that create our lives. A periodic blog.

Druid Life

Nimue Brown, David Bridger - Druidry, Paganism, Creativity, Hope

<3..........Laura Crean...........<3

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 - Author, artist, poet, mum, sci-fi and fantasy nutter - <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 v ision = love + truth + empowerment + enlightenment ~ Jesus = freedom <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 ****************************************** the Kid's Blog can be found at... http://rainbowruneblog.wordpress.com/ ***************************************************

patrick o'scheen

Patrick O'Scheen --author

All I Have to Say

The place where we talk about books, writing, and life!

AUTHOR JENNIFER LOISKE

Welcome to my world! It's full of angels, vampires, shape shifters and occasionally other paranormal creatures. I hope you enjoy their company as much as I do!